Book Review: Last Light Falling – The Covenant

image

Title: Last Light Falling

Series: The Covenant#1

Pages: 336

Author: J.E. Plemons

Goodreads blurb:
If your fate has already been chosen for you, would you change it? Fifteen-year-old Arena Power blindly accepts her destiny in a world filled with tragedy, chaos, and a lingering wickedness that will tempt every man’s soul until the last days on Earth. Set in the United States in the year 2053, America, like most of the world, has undergone catastrophic earthquakes, famine, and an economic collapse, which has rendered the nation hopeless. It has turned to other nations, like Russia and China, to help restore what was once a world power. Unfortunately, the new America has grossly caused civil unrest that will eventually be the precursor to a much bigger war of biblical proportions.
Orphaned at the age of nine, Arena and her twin brother, Gabe, have learned to rely on each other through the toughest times. Not only do they share the same birthday and the tragic loss of their parents, they both have a birthmark on the back of their necks in the shape of a crucifix. This is only but a small sign of the destiny that will follow. On their fifteenth birthday, they receive a mystery letter and key from their estranged Uncle Finnegan. This key will unlock their fate, and it will be up to a priest, who has vowed to protect them since birth, to unfold the layers of their destiny-to undo the evil that has spoiled the world, and to help unleash God’s wrath upon those who have turned from Him in the last days of history.
Last Light Falling weaves righteousness with evil, treachery with truth, and shows just how far the will of man can survive on faith alone. Arena and Gabriel’s fate will determine that course of history for which has already been written. They were not born to save the world; they were chosen to prepare it for the final days.

My review:
This is what I like the most. Action. Blood. The fight and stuff. A lot happens in this book. Some moments are funny and others less. The beginning of the book was not interesting, I had a craving to postpone her and to her not to come back but after a few chapters, things got more interesting. With each chapter I wanted to know more and more. At some point, my eyes refused to obey, and I could not read all week. So the hated not being able to read this book on, he did not even seem aware of it. After a week, I came back to all of this is gone now as protonema. I absorbed all the chapter after chapter, and suddenly the book was finished. But what was happening. Massacre. Going through the story with the main character. I also wanted to use the sword as she did. What chapter for more blood, more killed. I love such twists. In each book must be something going on, and this book is just that. Full of emotion, action, blood and suffering. ‚Angel of Death’ brings havoc but also a great help. After finishing this book, right away I wanted to take the second part but I can not strain my eyes. I do not know what else I can write about this book. You have to read it yourself to find out what hides this story. The only thing I know for sure is the author did a good job of writing such a wonder. I hope that this book will appeal to you too as much as I liked. I would recommend it to anyone who likes Dytopian / Action / Sci-Fi / Thriller / Utopia. 5/5

